Tazewell, Historic Town of

Before the pioneers arrived, Tazewell County was a hunting ground for Native Americans.  Tazewell County was created on December 20, 1799.  The land was taken from portions of Wythe and Russell Counties.  Tazewell was first named Jeffersonville after Thomas Jefferson who was named the third President that same year.  On February 29, 1892 the town of Jeffersonville was renamed Tazewell.  The town of Tazewell is a picturesque community that was established to serve as the county seat for Tazewell County.  It is one of the oldest communities in Southwestern Virginia. 

Many people use the Tazewell County Library in their searches for family roots.  The historical society is also rich with information.  

Today some of the historical buildings and houses still exist.  A walking tour is available by the Tazewell County Historical Society.  You may contact them to make an appointment.